Visitor Behavior Rules help you to react to:

  • IP addresses, devices and IP ranges that click on your ads and then interact (or do not interact) with your website in a specified way

  • ad placements that generate ad clicks where website visitors behave (or do not) behave in a specified way

By setting triggers, configuring specific conditions and implementing optimization actions, you can optimize your campaigns for quality interactions by blocking/excluding sources that exhibit specific behavior patterns after clicking on your ads.

The above is possible only if you're using visitor behavior tracking, which means you've installed the website tracking code. Since behavior metrics cannot be gauged in real-time but rather measured during a browser session, visitor behavior rules are not real-time and are run with predefined frequency.

Triggering the rule (WHEN)

To configure when a visitor behavior rule will trigger, set the following:

  • Maximum ad clicks: the maximum number of ad clicks before the rule triggers (to trigger the rule for the first click from a given source, input 0)

  • Within: the time period the rule will observe

  • From the same: the click source to apply the rule to (IP address, device, IP range or ad placement)

  • Page views: specify thresholds based on the pageviews metric

  • Time on site: specify thresholds based on the time spent on site metric

  • Interaction level: specify thresholds based on the site interaction level metric

  • Bot probability: specify thresholds based on the bot probability metric

You can combine behavior metrics. For example, you can configure your rule to trigger for visitors that visit less than 2 pages on your website, while exhibiting low overall interaction with your site.

Rule conditions (WHERE)

You can add special conditions to better control when your rules will be triggered:

Rule actions (THEN)

When the selected source reaches the specified click threshold you can:

If you block/exclude the source that triggered a visitor behavior rule, the click will be shown as FLAGGED. Otherwise, if you're only getting notified, the system will log it as SUSPICIOUS.

Did this answer your question?